Greed

It's raining outside, probably my favorite weather. 

But the thing I want and need to reflect on is a thing we brought up during psychology class today. There have been proven that the human mind works like this, we can not be satisfied with what we have. If you're completely satisfied with your salary and then hears from another person that he or she makes more than you do, then you won't be satisfied anymore. And if you think about it, it's quite true. We always work to achieve something. And once we've achieved it we plan out new things to work for. 

For me, this actually sounds quite pathetic. I know that I work this way aswell, I'm definetly not implying that I'm better than anyone else but that almost everyone thinks this way. I want to bring up the shaolin monks here. They are buddists. And the whole buddist philosophy is that greed is a sort of torture. They are taught to not feel greed or to be in need of all these material things. And I can relate to them to some extent actually. Is the whole meaning for us to always work hard and never to relax and to be happy with the things we actually do have?

Think about it, have we ever been happy that we actually get to educate us, that we get free food everyday in school etc? I know my polish cousins they have to pay for their school material school lunch etc. And I've seen those prices. they are not nice! So maybe we should change our way of thinking. I don't say that we should be grateful for every little detailed, because we need to work for something but perhaps we should appreciate things MORE than we do now.

Comments

Comment the post here:

Name:
remember me

e-mail address (won't be published)

URL/do you have a blog?:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0